Some people believe that it’s appropriate for children to learn a foreign language in primary school. Does the advantage of this outweigh its disadvantage?

As the hegemony of the United States of America is expanding, more and more countries are encouraging children to study English as a second language. While in some countries such as Japan, many primary students begin their English from the fifth grade, most countries are learning foreign languages from many early ages. In this essay, I would like to show the pros and cons of studying a foreign language in primary school and would like to state why I think that the positivity of teaching a non-native language from a young age would create benefits for children. One of the biggest concerns of learning a foreign language from youth is that students will achieve less knowledge in other fields. In Japan, the ministry of literature decides the education outline of public primary schools, and have set the limits for each subject that public school can teach their student. In order to teach a foreign language, public elementary schools have to cut other courses. Usually in this scenario, most schools cut music courses and many students end up knowing less about music. Therefore, many critics are fearing that students might lose some knowledge by acquiring a foreign language, which I think is not true. The positivities on the other hand are obviously that elementary school children would be capable of using a foreign language. Japan is one nation that is promoting foreign language education. Decades before, English courses were not conducted during primary education, however, nowadays children start learning English from the age of 6. Children today in Japan are way more talented in using English than those 10 years ago. A recent study also shows that children who started their foreign language education from their primary age tend to have higher IQs than those students who did not. This means that by adding foreign language classes to the primary school program, students will get smarter and will enhance the effectiveness of elementary school education. In conclusion, I believe that teaching foreign languages in elementary school is appropriate because the positivities of teaching foreign languages exceed the negativities. Children might lose some time to study certain subjects by substituting classes for foreign language classes, but students would get much smarter and their ability to understand would be enhanced and creating more benefits overall.