In the developed world, average life expectency is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society ? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of aging population.

Nowadays, figures for elderly people in developed countries are rising constantly. This essay will illustrate two of the causes that have resulted from this problem, which affects both individuals and the community, and present some solutions that can be done to reduce the effects of this trend. One concern regarding individuals is that they have to pay taxes much more now. This is because when the number of geriatrics increases, there will be a greater figure for the retired population, which receives pensions from the government, and in order to afford that, the government puts additional taxes on other members of society. Thus, many of these younger workers need to work extra time. To tackle this issue, the government should raise the retirement age and decrease the pension to meet the essential needs of the elderly population. As a result, the tax will not get that high. In terms of society, one well-known issue with the elderly population taking over the entire population is that the community will be much less productive and consumerism will increase. The reason for this is that the older ones mostly suffer from some health conditions that prevent them from doing a wide range of activities. Consequently, they will not be part of many programs held by society and decrease the efficiency of those activities due to a small number of participants. This issue can be managed by selecting certain types of work that do not involve much physical effort to be done by the elderly. In conclusion, two main issues facing society and individuals with a rising older population are added taxes and lower productivity in the community. However, these issues should be addressed by limiting pension payments to the elderly and raising the retirement age, as well as encouraging specific types of programs for the elderly to participate in.