In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

The 21st century witnessed a difference in domestic role division and family status due to the alternation of social ideology. In my perspective, the advantages of these changes outweigh the drawbacks of harmony. To begin with, the emphasis on gender equality gives rise to the parent working pattern. With the rise of feminism since the 18th century, women are encouraged to be educated and give contributions through working and achievement in the aspects of business, academia, society, culture, and even politics. The stereotype of males going to work and females being responsible for household management has been reversed which leads to the responsibility of women not being restricted to changing nappies anymore, but able to work in superior positions as managers, government officials, and even the president in the United Kingdom in particular. As a result, the housekeeper and child-rearing role may fall on the hired babysitter, rather than the parents. On top of that, the suppression of patriarchy encourages the value of women and children. In the past, men were deemed as the householder with the absolute power to control their wives and offspring. With feminism ideology, the original inferior position of female and youngster are valued, for example, their opinions are appreciated in the family. The character of authoritarian parents who control the family strictly, has altered into an authoritative upbringing, which concentrates on the view of the child. According to psychological research, approval and mutual understanding are the priority in the cognitive process and adolescent growth. Consequently, the more equal domestic status gives the young an edge in terms of making decisions, critical thinking, and social ability. Some against the family conversion proposed that the changed commuting style has turned the traditional extended family into a nuclear family. For instance, the family relocated into the urban areas for better job opportunities which leaves their grandparents in the countryside. This shift contributes to the separated clan in which the grandparents have to suffer from loneliness. Nevertheless, the notion of being alone is not the issue as the family member would eventually develop and have their own home. To conclude, gender role diversity and the emphasis on the female and children’s stand stimulate economic growth and benefit offspring’s development. While the feelings of the elderly should also be taken into consideration, a harmonious atmosphere could be achieved through regular family gatherings.