Some young people look forward to a year of travelling, a ‘gap year’, before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time. Discuss both view and give your own opinion.

A growing number of people are of the view that having a gap year is a useful approach to prepare for the future job due to the fact that it may widen youngsters’ knowledge. However, there are some who believe that such experience does not have any advantages. From my perspective, having a year abroad is an amazing opportunity for pupils to grow up which have a plenty of pros which will be outlined in this essay below. On the one hand, a gap year is essential for those who have hesitations about a speciality they want to study for years. As a matter of fact, school graduates are too young to decide what exactly they want to do in the future during the whole life. Moreover, some of them are likely to meet with burnout and stress due to the fact that they made a wrong decision about a field of study. Undeniably, students can study just the subjects of their interest along with studying the foreign language. Therefore, having a free year to understand the interest in a sphere that a student wants to study in the future is vital. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks about a year abroad. In fact, it needs an enormous amount of money to afford a gap year. To be more specific, a sudent needs to pay for an accommodation, food, courses and other things while he/she does not even have a job. Furthermore, when an individual enters the university after having a year abroad they meet with the other economical issues. It is widely known that a student’s life is significantly expensive as well. Undoubtedly, having one year abroad can afford only those whose parents are ready to invest in that or those who have a job with a permanent high salary. To conclude, there are some who believe that having a gap year is essential for students to expand their experience. Others suppose that it is an unuseful and expensive approach. I am totally convinced that having a year abroad is important for school graduates who do not know which field of study to choose in the future.