Topic: Extreme sports such as skydiving and skiing are very dangerous and should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Nowadays, adventure sports like scuba diving, rock climbing and parachuting are becoming more favourable among young adults, notwithstanding their high risks of causing accidents. While some say these sports may pose potential hazards, I disagree that we should prohibit everyone from enjoying them. Compared with low-impact activities, such as golf, yoga and swimming, extreme sports are more likely to make people suffer from severe injuries and even fatal incidents. For instance, America has estimated that around 50 people die rock climbing yearly. Moreover, base jumping and wingsuit flying have a far higher rate of deaths, 1 in 60 participants. Several athletes find these activities hazardous because many things can go horribly wrong, even when precautions are taken. Extreme sports put someone’s life in danger daily due to the nature of the activities. Furthermore, to get a thrill without having life-threatening moments, participants may need to buy sports gear and update the latest equipment regularly, which can be notably expensive. Despite the arguments mentioned above, I would argue that everyone has a right to decide which sports to play. High-intensity sports provide a full-body workout and keep people healthy. For example, many ideas state that these activities, like skiing and big wave surfing, help individuals burn calories and improve their balance, endurance and muscle strength. In addition, by experiencing adventurous tasks, risk-takers push themselves physically, emotionally, and in every possible way to attain self-awareness, pleasure and transcendence. Finally, for outdoor enthusiasts, it is unmissable to practice cave diving, mountain biking and bungee jumping to engage with the natural environment, ignite all senses and boost their mood. To sum up, even though extreme sports could be perilous, they should not be forbidden. People need to consider various possibilities to choose their favourite leisure activities which are most suitable for them.