Many wrongdoers commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is often noticed that the culprits, in spite of serving their jail term, commit a crime and make it a lifelong activity. There are several reasons for this behaviour, and our community must derive a master plan to minimize such incidents. There are several factors that force people into wrongdoing. Firstly, an individual who is out of jail will find it difficult to find a job. Employers will be hesitant to offer jobs to such people. For instance, most corporates, as part of the recruitment, seek permission to perform a background check. As a result, individuals with a criminal background will be denied jobs. Secondly, society portrays such individuals as bad people, even without assessing the reason why the person went behind the bars. Eventually, due to the restricted environment, these individuals are motivated to perform crimes for survival. Society, along with the offender plays a vital role in eradicating this scenario. To begin with, there must be training within the jail to develop skills, that would make them capable to find jobs with ease. In addition, jobs that require monotonous work can be introduced inside jail campuses as these initiatives will help jail dwellers to make money. Moreover, training and counselling can be planned inside the jail, to improve the mindset of the offenders. Therefore society and individuals must work together to ensure that life after punishment is more peaceful. To conclude, although it is evident that one-time offender commits repeated crimes, I believe that communities must work closely with criminals and bring them to the correct path. There must be action plans coupled with various programmes to ensure that such individuals are given opportunities and care in order to prosper as better individuals and contribute positive outcomes to society.