Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

In the past decades, the enrollment rate in primary education has increased worldwide; however, illiteracy is one of the issues concerning several countries. This essay will discuss its causes and effects on certain people and on a nation. Perhaps the major factor here is poverty exists in every country in the world. Poor people reliably meet their basic personal needs, such as food, shelter, and clothing. Going to school requires some expenses including school supplies, uniforms, and travel costs; thus, low-income families may choose to provide basic needs first instead of investing in their children’s education. It results in children growing into illiterate adults. Another well-known cause is the inadequate provision of schools. Many countries fail to meet the rising demand for schools caused by population growth. As a result, there are millions of children out of school worldwide. However, some may argue that social barriers lead to some people not being educated. When it comes to effects, illiteracy leads to poverty. Many illiterate parents tend to not value the importance of education so that their children may end up illiterate. In addition, those who cannot write and read usually experience difficulty in finding well-paid work; thus their income might not be sufficient to meet their basic needs. A further widely-observed impact is high crime levels. Illiterate people may be involved in crime because of low income or lack of education. There is some evidence to suggest the higher the illiteracy rate is, the higher the crime level is. Low income and lack of schools appear to be the main causes of illiteracy and it can result in poverty and high crime levels in society.