Some people say that museums should be free, whereas others find that some entry fee should be there. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Some individuals believe that there should be some charges for entrance to museums, while others argue that there should be free access to museums without any fees. Although having free access to museums can encourage more visitors, I believe that institutions which charge fees provide them with a necessary and steady source of income, enabling them to maintain and improve their collections and facilities. Having free access to museums can encourage more visitors. This is due to the fact that people who are from less advantaged socio-economic backgrounds and underprivileged societies can visit there and in any other case they are unable to afford high entry charges. When there are no ticket prices, it encourages a lot of individuals to visit exhibitions as compared with the time of admission fees. For example, a national museum in Britain shows the arrival rate is higher during the time when there is no ticket price while tendency among visitors to make excursions during paid time periods is decreased. However, I believe that free museums can struggle with funding for maintenance, acquisitions, and quality exhibitions. Charging fees by gallery provide them with a regular source of income which they can utilise towards furnishing of building and providing more facilities. This is because cultural and historical buildings require huge amounts of money to perform their functions without any obstructions. There are two sources of these funds one is donation and the other one is earnings. To manage these buildings successfully, alone donation did not serve the purpose, earnings from sources will be required as well and entry fees is the main source of earnings in the case of these institutions. For example, one research study shows that in order to run museums efficiently and effectively, they should have regular sources of money such as admission fees, on the contrary, donation is a non-recurring source. For this reason, I believe that buildings should charge entry fees which ensures their source of earnings. In conclusion, although free access increases the number of visitors to museums, I believe that the collection of admission fees provides institutions with a significant source of income which further helps them to improve their facilities.