Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although people believed that harsher punishment reduces criminal, other individuals think that there are more efficient ways to stop scandals. I believe that a lengthy period of incarceration would be more fitting. Some people believe that longer prison terms are preferable because they keep criminals off the streets and stop them and others from committing crimes as frequently, and I agree with them. In other words, violent offenders who are imprisoned for a number of years are given more time to reflect on their lives and change for the better. Additionally, increasing prison sentences serves as a discouragement to those who might want to commit similar horrible crimes. For instance, since those responsible for such crimes are given life in prison, the number of rapists has significantly decreased. Thus, this has contributed to a decrease in the frequency of crime. Furthermore, continued punishment ensures that society is properly protected. That is to say, when criminals who are a threat to the society are convicted to longer years in jail it would return peace and harmony back to the society. Therefore, reducing the incidence of reported heinous crime. Beside that, it is frequently held that it is preferable if the emphasis is placed on creating a larger society as opposed to punishment. This is due to the fact that keeping a prison for an extended period of time can be extremely expensive, and the burden is frequently placed on tax paying citizens. The justice system should therefore focus on the ways that criminals benefit society rather than the other way around. This program decreased the crime rate because, for instance, if one individual stole property, he would spend 30 days in an orphanage with foreign children who had lost everything. Another factor is that prisons concentrate punishment rather than programs for training and rehabilitation. There should be other, more effective ways to train and provide tools for villains to improve their character. so reducing crime from society. In conclusion, even though people's opinions may differ. I believe that convicting criminals for a long period of time is more beneficial since it deters future crimes and restores peace and tranquility to the community.