All children should learn to speak a foreign language as soon as they start school. How far do you agree with this proposal? How important it is for a child to learn a foreign language?

It is generally believed that children should learn a second language as soon as they start school. Personally, I agree with this point, and I will explain why. Firstly, children who study foreign language at an early age (specially before age five) seem to become bilingual because they use the same part of the brain to acquire both languages. For instance, juniors growing up abroad often speak a foreign language at school, whilst using their mother language to communicate with their family. Furthermore, as a result of the globalisation, more people are seeking education and also workplaces in different countries. Students who learned a second language as a child seem to have more opportunities than the others who could not. Because learning a new language too late can be challenging sometimes. Finally, it is an inescapable fact that bilingual adolescents tend to improve academic skills, such as reading and writing better than those without an additional language, for the reason that their concentration, memory, and the ability to multitask are boosted during the process. Some may argue that learning an another language as a kid leads to confusion in acquiring a native language. However, this situation will not last longer in case they keep using both languages frequently. Also, intervention from both parents and the school is necessary to resolve this issue. To conclude, learning a foreign language as a child can be beneficial in many ways. It can develop their brain, lead to bilingualism and help them to get an education or even live permenantly in other developed countries.