Some people think that technological development can reduce crime, while others think that it would encourage crime. Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

Whether it is possible for technological advancement to decrease the number of crimes or not is a controversial topic. From my perspective, both arguments are legitimate but I am still in favour of the first viewpoint. I will give my detailed explanations in the following paragraph. On the one hand, it is undeniable that the enhancement of technology poses numerous detrimental impacts on society. First, innumerable novel cutting-edge gadgets, which are extremely expensive, stimulate individuals’ greed. In fact, several individuals do not have intentions to steal initiately, but when they approach a luxurious product, negative ideas originate. Second, hackers are able to take advantage of private information and blackmail netizens. In the past, when technology had not been developed, a limited number of computer users logged and uploaded personal information, namely their daily routines, on social networks. These days, most civilians access and update their statuses and photographs on social media, which gives rise to the thief of sensitive data. For example, in modern times every day, a considerable figure of customers are bombarded with telesales calls relentlessly causing their discomfort, even though they are in official hours. On the other hand, the above arguments are insufficient to justify the merits of this phenomenon. At the simplest, a significant number of state-of-the-art technological devices are invented to support public security. These days, police forces are able to trace offenders based on video clips which are recorded on innumerable public cameras installed everywhere on the streets. In addition, it is plausible for polices to find thieves because almost all personal identifications are stored on the official management systems. In this day and age, the authorities control the public data by an automatic system, that assists they to export the residents’ identify by a simplest way. If one day these automatic sysytems become non-existent, it is difficult for managing social matters, namely the population. In short, although the development of technology causes several serious issues, such as promoting human greed and losing information, the other opinion is outperformed thanks to a couple of motivations, namely supplying security tools for police and managing informational citizens more easily.