Advances in science and technology have made great changes to the lives of ordinary people, but artists such as musicians, painters and writers are still highly valued. What can the arts tell us about life that science and technology cannot?

Science and technology have found their way into modern society over the past few decades and have greatly influenced the human community. Art, on the other hand, has always been another inseparable part of our lives and has uniquely demonstrated its own values. In this essay, I will delve into this topic from two aspects. To begin with, the cultural and historical values of arts can never be underestimated. There is no doubt that sites such as museums and art galleries are symbols of a place and reflect the culture and traditions of a region. Take the Oriental Metropolitan museum in Nanjing, China as an example, its core theme is to display artefacts and relics from the Six Dynasties period in Chinese history. By visiting this place, people have a deeper understanding of the local culture and customs of that particular time period. In general, it is undeniable that arts play essential roles in cultural influences and such impact cannot be illustrated by science and technology. Next, when it comes to leisure and entertainment, art demonstrates irreplaceable effects. For instance, recent research shows that nowadays over 90 per cent of the population in China prefers to entertain themselves with different forms of art in their leisure time, such as listening to music, watching movies and videos, reading novels, etc. Apparently, art has emerged into every citizen's life and its position in our hearts certainly cannot be replaced by anything else. To conclude, it is admitted that science and technology are totem poles of human society. Nevertheless, due to the aforementioned reasons, I believe that art is equally important as theirs, and, definitely it benefits our community in its own way.