Some people feel that young people should follow the traditions of their society. Others, however, believe that young people should be free to behave as individuals. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Whether the current generation should pursue a traditional lifestyle or a modern one remains a controversial topic. From my perspective, both arguments are reasonable to a certain extent, but I am still in favour of the latter viewpoint. I will explain my preference in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, the advocates of the first standpoint have rational grounds. First, following traditional values will help young people develop in the right direction. To be specific, they are too young to be aware of the serious consequences which may be caused by their actions. While the traditions of their community are experiences which have been accumulated over hundreds of years. Second, it is necessary to preserve national customs by maintaining traditions, because loss of cultural identities may cause some mistakes in the mindset of young people. Worse still, gradually, the current generation will forget their origins. On the other hand, the above arguments are insufficient to overshadow the merits of the second standpoint. At its simplest, several traditional values are no longer because of the development of society. For example, previous generations usually predicted weather based on natural phenomena, but now humans utilize state-of-the-art technologies to give exact forecasts. On top of that, growing free and individually will assist young citizens in improving their critical thinking ability. Back then, children were limited in creativity since traditional codes of conduct. Nowadays, in Europe countries, educators are researching and applying liberal education in reality, which enables students to create and confidently show their opinions. In short, although it is safe for the young to aim for traditions. However, in modern life, they need to be free to behave as individuals.