Overpopulation of urban area has lead to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that the governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

The increasing population in cities is irrefutably a problem that needs to be addressed immediately. This is primarily because it leads to several challenges. This essay details a few issues and solutions to the aforementioned problem in the following paragraphs. To begin with, folks from villages usually come to developed cities in search of work and opportunities. The surge in population due to this causes numerous issues like noise, air, and soil pollution. Moreover, all resources like land, water, food, jobs, etc. have to be shared among all the people staying there; which leads to land encroachment, increased competition and a lack of hygienic conditions. Furthermore, the need for more land leads to deforestation, thus stripping wildlife and birds of their natural habitat. To exemplify further, a study conducted by the University of Toronto on sparrows in downtown Toronto noticed a decrease of at least 30% in sparrows in 2022 as compared to 2017. Governments can help by providing incentives to those who choose to stay in two-tier cities by providing tax cuts. Additionally, they could also create more job opportunities for people staying in the villages so that they can earn their livelihood there without relocating. To add on, post the COVID pandemic, more companies have adopted the remote working culture; employees at a personal level could request their employers for the same. This would prevent the overpopulation of urban areas. In a nutshell, the increasing population in the cities is undoubtedly developing into a major concern. Governments and individuals can adopt some of the suggestions mentioned above to tackle this problem.