Many people today would argue that cinemas are becoming irrelevant due to new streaming services. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary society, with effortless access to streaming services right from home, movie theaters are believed to be gradually dominated. I am genuinely against this point of view as cinemas still remain significant for several reasons which are discussed in this essay. The advocating bracket believes streamed movies are more affordable compared to viewing them on the big screen. The audience does not have to lay out a big amount of money for a two-hour-long movie,, instead they could have a wider access to a diversity of films on Netflix or any other streaming services. However, I consider the core of this claim is invalid. Streaming platforms requires monthly subscription for the users to have full access to their movie storage, which is apparently more expensive as opposed to movie tickets in the long term. One of the chief merits of movie theaters is that it could offer an exclusive immersive experience with an expansive screen, which watching shows on a regular TV fail to achieve. The advancement of the movie industry such as cinematic effects, 4DX realistic experience, and high-end sound systems bring moviegoers into the film where they could relate to the situation and characters as if they were in the movie. Another advantage of seeing movies at cinemas is that people could feel the sense of community and the vibe of audience reactions, therefore enjoying the film to the fullest. To exemplify, in the latest Marvel movie Spider-Man No way home, the comeback of Tobey Maguire,who played the first spiderman twenty years ago, has stirred up the atmosphere and the reaction of the viewers in the auditorium was precious. With such immersive and realistic feelings that cinemas have to offer, streaming services could never be able to more prevalent. In conclusion, going to cinemas is a unique experience that streaming movies from home could hardly replace.