Topic: Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Nowadays, many fields need the attention of governments, for example, education, health care, housing and transport. Some believe national expenditures should be allocated for supporting community services rather than developing arts, music and theatre. In my opinion, while spending money to enhance citizens' lives is crucial, the arts sector should not be set aside. On the one hand, improving public services is a fundamental task undertaken by the government and local authorities, as it significantly affects the residents of every country. Facilities such as hospitals, schools, parks and other recreational areas, constructed due to philanthropy and regulatory actions, aim to upgrade the quality of life. For example, in New Zealand, a substantial national budget invested in the health industry to guarantee community care like general practitioners, dentistry, midwifery, and optometry are accessible, which contributes to raising life expectancy. Moreover, focusing on public transport such as buses, trains, and ferries is another integral mission due to its benefits in reducing air pollution, road congestion and fuel crisis. Similarly, a high literacy rate in several countries, for instance, Finland, Norway and North Korea, is a consequence of government investment in education to boost economic growth, reduce crime and foster civic engagement. On the other hand, investing in arts such as music, theatres, museums, and libraries is also an unmissable commission of governments due to its endeavour to maintain historical and cultural values. Artefacts such as languages, dances, songs, pictures and books reflect dwellers' beliefs and practices, which help to distinguish one region from another. For example, the New Zealand government is currently spending a large sum of money on preserving Te Reo Maori, an indigenous language on this country's mainland. Millions of dollars were invested in good-quality classrooms, art galleries and museums to promote the values of this endangered language, providing a robust platform for Maori's descendants to strive in the future. To sum up, even though the importance of public services is undeniable, arts still play an unreplaceable role in our life. In my opinion, funding for the arts sector is not wasteful, as it defines the human and culture of a country.