Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, it is widely claimed that advertisings play a vital role in promoting sales in many industries. However, some argue that customers no longer pay attention to them anymore. Both points of view will be elaborated on in the essay, as well as the reason why I believe that advertising is still effective. To begin with, many consider that advertising is one of the most viable means to encourage potential customers to buy their products. To explain it simply, it is believed that adverts can effectively raise brand awareness to anyone who might need them. For example, a dishwasher, a product which no Thai family used decades ago, is becoming popular in Thailand due to the fact that their advertising shows that their benefits meet the housemaids’ demand. On the other hand, some opponents of this idea argue that since there are overwhelming advertisements these days, people are getting used to them and gradually ignoring them. To clarify, there are advertisements everywhere, such as on social media platforms or on billboards along the streets. Therefore these commercials cannot catch individuals’ minds anymore due to their existence everywhere. For instance, studies have revealed that product placement in movies or TV programmes is more likely to turn customers down rather than attract them due to the fact that the products have appeared too often. Personally, I am convinced that advertising remains one of the most effective methods to capture individuals’ attention. The main reason is that when watching advertisements over and over again, people will subconsciously think about the products. For example, many experienced having ads’ jingles stuck in their head for a few days after listening to them. In conclusion, although it is undeniable that some types of advertising are seemed to be more annoying than persuading, I am of the opinion that it is an excellent way to pull the potential people's attention to purchase their goods.