Cities are becoming overcrowded. What are the causes of this situation, and what can be done to improve this situation?

One big problem of the developed countries is that the infrastructure of their main towns cannot sustain the levels of urbanization. The main reason why people are moving into the big city is that they are offered a lot more opportunities for work. However, the high population density could be easily decreased if the government stimulate a decentralization of the economy in rural areas of the nation. The result of the wide range of job offers in large cities is that those areas are attracting more and more young families to move there in order to maintain a higher quality of life. Furthermore, all big industries are located in the capital of our country-Bulgaria, therefore, ¼ of the population lives there. For example, if we look at the IT sector, all of the software engineering companies have established their offices in big business centres all around Sofia, which is the capital of Bulgaria. It is reported that over 150,000 people are currently working in this area, and they are settled mostly within the city. A long-term solution to this predicament is to relocate part of the mentioned industries to the countryside- a process called ‘decentralization’. If our politics manage to do so, a vast majority of the workforce will be established in different smaller towns which in the end will reduce the overall population in the capital. For example, it was recently announced by the government that they are planning to move the tobacco factory” Bulgartabak” from Sofia to Varna, which is the third largest city in the country. By doing so, they promised that nearly 25,000 people will switch their homes and will start living in the latter. In conclusion, overpopulation in many cities is a disturbing issue that we all must pay attention to. Consequently, as workplaces are the main reason why humans live in those locations, the problem connected with this could easily be tackled just by diverting some of the big corporations all over the country.