In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying/ To what extent do you agree with this statement?

In this day and age, while technology plays an essential role in the news industry, people are less likely to buy hard-copy newspapers. Therefore, some claim that nobody will purchase printed newspapers or books anymore in the near future as these media will be accessed online for free. Personally, I agree with the statement, and my reasons will be elaborated on in this essay. To begin with, the first reason why I believe that all physical books and newspapers will be moved to online platforms is that e- books are significantly more convenient for both sellers and customers compared to conventional ones. To explain it simply, more readers can get access to their favourite books with just a click of a button anywhere and anytime. Take Kindle, a well-known international e-book platform, for example; this application allows people from across the world to get access to international books by using their smartphones or tablets without having to go to bookstores and libraries. Furthermore, advertisements within these applications will allow readers to read these media for free. In this respect, it is logical that authors and media companies will get more benefits from using online platforms to establish their books instead of printing them. Moreover, another reason is that governments from all over the world will support online-reading platforms as they are more environmentally friendly than printed ones. To clarify, establishing physical books requires a large amount of paper, leading to deforestation which directly worsens global warming issues. For instance, several studies have revealed that deforestation rates due to the paper industry have decreased dramatically in the last decade owing to the advent of online newspaper websites and applications. From this perspective, it is worth the price for all governments and all organisations related to saving the environment will uphold and push this trend to become realistic in the near future. In conclusion, although some might argue that there will be some existence of printed books and newspapers in the future, I am of the opinion that all of these media will be available online for free and customers will not buy hard copies of them anymore, as online-reading platforms provide more benefits to authors, readers, and environment.