Topic: Nowadays in many countries more and more people are spending their time away from their families. Why is this? What are the effects on themselves and on their families?

Currently, many people, especially young adults, tend to pay more attention to other fields rather than to their families. This essay will analyse possible reasons for this phenomenon and discuss several impacts on each individual and every household. In today’s modern world, recent studies show that younger people are more open-minded and extroverted than older ones, provoking these new generations to escape from their comfort zones and experience new things. Many individuals passionately spend time on outdoor activities, such as adventure sports, voluntary work and travel, which could trigger a distraction lessening their concern for families. Moreover, the rapid innovation of electronic devices, for instance, mobile phones, laptops and touchscreen tablets, and the Internet revolution, have remarkably shifted everyone’s focus from noticing their beloved ones towards various entertaining purposes. Consequently, parents and young children are busy with their phones playing games, watching movies on Netflix, recording videos on Tik Tok and making new friends on Facebook instead of communicating with each other. This rising issue may provide some notable influences on a person and his family. First, everyone needs a family to count on and receive proper care and advice whenever he encounters difficulties. The inability to maintain family time may lead to severe health conditions such as depression, anxiety, obesity and diabetes. In addition, a chronic lack of parental care is one of the primary roots of juvenile crimes, for example, school violence, substance abuse and robbery, which seriously threaten households and society. To sum up, everyone must think about their priorities. It would be great if they could balance family commitments and other work. Therefore, I believe it is worth everyone investing time in their families.