All children should learn to speak a foreign language as soon as they start school. How far do you agree with this proposal? How important is it for a child to learn a foreign language?

Language plays a significant role in communication, and in the modern globalization era, learning a second language opens many opportunities for those studying. Therefore, some people believe that it is important to learn a foreign language as early as possible. I agree with this statement due to the following reasons. First of all, foreign language learning broadens one’s horizons. A monolingual person tends to get information from limited sources; on the other hand, a multilingual person has a variety of information sources that gives them a chance to see one thing from different sides. Consequently, those who know more than one language as a child are likely to become more critical and more culture-sensitive adults. Furthermore, the younger a person studies a foreign language, the quicker they learn. As the age grows up, the ability to encode new information into human memory decreases. There is some evidence to suggest that language learners before age 10 have more chance of reaching proficient level than those who learn later. It seems to demonstrate that acquiring a second language earlier leads to proficient users of that language. Finally, foreign language learning supports cognitive development. Memorizing new words regularly and thinking in a dissimilar form than the mother language requires different brain functions to work. As a result, children’s ability to memorize and concentrate increases. It might be said that children have a difficulty distinguishing between their mother language and foreign language. However, there are many people who expertised in both languages even if they learnt a second language before school. In conclusion, knowledge expansion, quick learning and intellectual growth are the main reasons why children should learn a second language before school. Thus, it is better to seek opportunities to teach children a foreign language from an early age for authorities, school administrations and parents.