‘Everybody should donate a fixed amount of their income to support charity.’ How far do you share this viewpoint?

Some argue that it is necessary for people to donate a certain amount of money they earn to support charity. It seems to me that giving money to those in need is not the prime way to help them and I will explain why in this essay. Firstly, charities often target symptoms, not causes. It might be true that charity helps the recipient with their problem; however, it does not do much to deal with the causes of the problem. For instance, there is a shocking fact that some children are being trafficked away from their parents with promises of education to fake orphanages, where managers fundraise money to earn a profit. A second negative factor is that charities are more likely to exacerbate poverty. By this we mean that charity tends to make its receivers more indolent since they are provided for what they need without any hard work. Some even prefer lean on charities to make money on their own. Finally, the government is still spending a fixed amount of our taxes on charity at some point. Therefore, we do not have to worry about charities and just need to pay tariffs as usual for the sake of our society. It is true that there are some positives to charity, most notably the pleasure of helping others. Although, charity may not provide the solution to issues such as poverty and unemployment. In conclusion, charities are often a short-term fix and also impacts indigence negatively. Furthermore, the government usually takes matter into its own hand. So giving money to support charities is not an adequate option sometimes. In spite of that, we can offer our time and talent to charity.