Some people think that sport is very important for society. Others, however, argue that it is nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Sports have gained popularity greatly these years. For those who are obsessed with sports, it’s true that turning into pros could be rather difficult, however, sports should never be deemed as no more than leisure activities. In my opinion, sports are indeed very important for society. Sports can only help very few talented athletes earn a living, and everyone should prepare them for life when the cheering stops. For the vast majority of student-athletes, that life begins at graduation. For the exceptional ones who made their way to professional leagues, post- sports life also begins soon enough. Even world champions are at the top for only a few years. Still, sports are of utmost significance to both individuals and society due to the fact that they could foster good physiques and cultivate great character. Modern lifestyles are made largely sedentary by technology, and only exercising regularly could give people a good constitution. For example, children could be less addicted to computers if they could develop a habit of exercise. Employees could get rid of chronic diseases if they could do some exercise every now and then during or after work. Besides, spiritual benefits make sports important to society as well. To start with, working out could ability to concentrate, thus increasing people’s working efficiency. What’s more, sports could teach people to persist in front of frustrations and disappointments of everyday life, because it is common for athletes to lose a game and recover soon after their failures. Furthermore, sports also have unifying effects. When the audience is rooting for their national sports heroes, patriotic feelings are instilled gradually in every citizen’s heart. In conclusion, although sports could not ensure every supporter's livelihood, it is far more than just leisure activities for their physical and mental benefits.