Some people think that work is the most important thing of people's life. Without the success of career, life will become meaningless. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Given the significant amount of time individuals spend working throughout their lives, some people believe that the meaning of life would only exist when a worker succeeds in his profession. In this essay, however, I will challenge this thinking by demonstrating that work achievements do not always play a key factor in determining whether or not someone has lived their lives to the fullest. Supporters of pursuing professional success highlight how individuals devote two-thirds of their lifespan to their careers. Consequently, they argue that failing to achieve significant accomplishments at work would be considered a personal failure given the substantial investment of time and effort. Nonetheless, this thinking fails to factor in the fact that the meaning of an individual’s life should be evaluated throughout their entire life and not just one particular achievement, as evidenced by the fact that many people suffered from self-accusation when they realize how much they have to compromise along the way in exchange for what is considered an exceptional professional. That being the case, striving for higher status within one's career can potentially lead to an unsatisfying life instead of a fulfilling one. This is why we should take into consideration a variety of other factors when estimating the degree to which individuals have led their lives with purpose. What is more, a worthwhile life is not just decided with a significant occupation, but also engaging in noble acts of helping people in need or underprivileged situations. Under this argument, through devoting to charity, individuals can find themselves as a part of the greater good. Therefore, if we overrule every other significant purpose and stick with building a successful business, we would likely leave out all the chances that could make our lives worth living. This can be seen in a great number of philanthropists such as Bill Gates or Warren Buffet who have given up their fortune and dedicated their lives to charity work. This is a statement for the fact that life ’s purposes can be found in doing noble activities and not just a goal to achieve such as having a successful profession. In conclusion, I vehemently oppose the notion that a remarkable vocation should be a person's top priority, considering all the other factors that contribute to the value of their existence.