In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different opinions on whether to construct new railway lines or make an improvement to existing public transportation. I reckon that it is worthwhile to invest more in the new railroads instead of enhancing the original public transit system. To begin with, with the advance of technology, there are several advantages to building new railways between places. Firstly, the latest railways run much faster than before, which saves people's time travelling. Secondly, with the bond of the train station, it helps to shorten the distance and also close the gap of development between the centre and centres. With new train lines being constructed, people might benefit from visiting new places. On the other hand, some might argue that it is important to improve the existing public transportation system as well. However, with the progress of development, most downtown might have slightly changed. The old transportation system is not being used as much as before which is likely to be outdated. Last but not least, existing transit sometimes needs a huge amount of money to keep in repair. In conclusion, it is both important to create new railways for capital and to maintain the old transit. Nevertheless, I believe that it is far more worth spending more money on building a new train line.