Some think that residents should responsible for keeping their areas clean and tidy, while others say it is the government’s responsibility. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

Nowadays some people believe that the residential area should be kept clean and tidy by the its residents. However, some individual argue that government should handle this job. This essay will examine both side of this contrasting views and my opinion that the local people should involve to keep their area clean will be given. On the on hand, government should responsible for keeping the area clean and tidy as they can issue the law to prevent the risk activities that make the area dirty. For example, in Singapore, people will need to pay an expensive fine when they do not throw away their garbage in the bin even if it was a small piece. Addionally, the government already collect taxes from their citizens so they should be the one who utilise this money to clean the public area. On the other hand, I strongly agree that individuals in the community should participate to keep their area neat because the result might be better if more local people cooperate together. To give a clear example, in some community, there is a big cleaning day every month when residents gather together to clean their neighbourhood. This community participation is also raise the awareness of clean society. Another reason is that the government does not have much time and budget to spend more on keeping its country clean as there are more urgent and important issues to solve such as lack of healthcare system, poor eduction and poverlty. To conclude, with all reason taken into account, although government should have the duty to keep its country tidy, the other social and economic issues are more important for government to focus. Thus, I strongly believe that the residents in the community should make their area neat and tidy.