Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

There is a large number of children wasting a significant amount of time using gadgets on a daily basis. Lack of hobbies and early purchase of phones might be the reasons for that unhealthy habit. What are the consequences? This essay will acquaint you with my experience of getting rid of that problem and the main reasons for that. Firstly, parents are buying phones in order to have a connection with their kids at any distance or in terms of getting the information needed for school. Parents are worried about the safety of their children, so they purchase devices for them at quite early age. However, phones nowadays have a large number of different functions besides calls, like video games and social media. Applications like those are affecting a child like a drug, consuming all of the energy and interest in the real world, keeping the child’s mind deep inside the techno-universe. Boredom and lack of hobbies are also one of the reasons which are consequently to the long screen time. From birth, a kid is always craving to know everything he is unfamiliar with. If he hadn’t had that curiosity, he probably wouldn’t gain any skills throughout life. Smartphones are distractors in that educational moment. As an example of this, when i was a kid, my parents would forbid me to use my iPad after 5 pm. If they wouldn’t do that, I wouldn’t have known how to play the violin and piano. So, reducing screen time helped me to find new activities in moments of boredom. Misuse and overuse of cellphones will lead a person to degradation which later might become even more series problems like depression or health problems. It surely negatively affects on child’s welfare and development. In conclusion, often the case of using telephones is too usual among kids.