Young people who commit crimes should be treated the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether adolescents should be punished for their crimes in the way adults are has gained traction. From my point of view, imposing similar punishments for both young and mature suspects will have a negative impact. it is plausible that advocates of equal treatment for underaged and adult lawbreakers have grounds to believe that this notion can have positive results. First, more young criminals would emerge if they are pardoned for their wrongdoings due to their age. Some retributions are too light for the seriousness of the felonies committed, hence, cannot deter youngsters from breaking the law. Moreover, giving young lawbreakers lighter sentences is unjust for the victims and their families, as some felonies are too vile for punishments such as being sent to prison. For example, one case in point is in Vietnam, 2017, a robber killed a family of 4, including the parents and their young children. Usually, this man would have been sentenced to death, yet he only got sentenced to 18 years in prison. The fact that he escaped just punishment because he was a few months underaged angered the public for an extended period of time. notwithstanding the above-mentioned justifications, I strongly believe that juvenile delinquents should not receive retributions similar to that for adults. To start with, children do not have the moral capacity and thorough understanding of the world as grown-ups. Therefore, they cannot fully comprehend the weight of their wrongdoings or even the sentences. Some young culprits commit crimes without knowing whether it is immoral or not. Thus, giving these criminals leeway and an opportunity to rehabilitate and contribute to society is more humane. Furthermore, adolescents are easily affected by different factors, as compared to adults. Grown-ups have the ability to stop themselves but younger ones, once instigated, may act on impulse and cause regrets. To conclude, while it is undeniable that inflicting fitting penalties for criminals is important to upholding society’s stability and values, I am of the opinion that young lawbreakers should be tried differently in court from adult offenders.