Many people are working longer hours. Why is this happening? What problems can this cause to people?

It is alarming that working overtime is increasingly prevalent among employees these days. Reasons for this phenomenon vary, and it has several impacts. To begin with, there are several explanations for said matter. First, employees have to make an uphill effort to be able to compete with others. To be specific, a lucrative vocation is a dream of an ample number of workers but only a fraction of them are able to achieve it. In fact, an increase in the unemployment rate of Vietnam and the wave of staff cuts due to the Covid-19 epidemic forced new graduate students to work day and night to become official staff. Second, a significant number of current enterprises are assigning a large amount of work per employee. Compared to previous generations who have many sisters or brothers, current generations are mostly sole children in the family so they tackle the financial burden such as taking leading responsibilities of ministering to their ageing parents and their offspring. Therefore, it is compulsory for them to accomplish all work tasks to be able to receive income, which assists them to raise their family. Unfortunately, the topic in question poses several threats. First and foremost, overwork has been linked to declines in not only mental but also physical health. To be specific, workers sit to work too long and under too much stress, resulting in an increase in the risk of conditions such as depression, insomnia and joint pain. In addition, their children are negatively affected when not receiving enough attention from their parents. To be elaborate, having the care from parents in the adolescent stage is especially important for shaping moral identities. In fact, in Vietnam, a significant number of adolescents, who are drug addicts or engage in illegal motorcycle races, are caught in jail due to the lack of parents ’ time in teaching them. In short, the massive amount of work and intense competitions force the labour force to work extra hours. As a result, both (parents and their children) must be given detrimental effects on physical and mental health in the long run.