Some people think the government should decide which subject students should study at university, while others think students should be allowed to apply for the subject they prefer. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have a myriad of views about who is responsible for choosing a university major for students. Although there are good arguments in favour of the government ought to help students make a college decision, I personally believe that pupils have their own right to make up their minds. First and foremost, the authority assigning which subjects should each student study would ensure graduates have a secure job with a stable salary. It is true that the government would encourage pupils to study the prevailing subjects, such as IT and Science due to the demands for science and technology fields and in turn have a clearer career path when they graduated from universities. For example, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the shortage of healthcare professionals, like doctors and nurses causing an alarming situation that demands our imminent attention. If the council take up the role to help high school graduates make the decision on a university major so more healthcare professionals will then be trained and in turn, they must get a job when they finish studying college. Another point to note is that pupils are more likely to be financially independent if they can study popular and demanding subjects. It is of vital importance that students are expected to earn a living or even support their parents after higher education. When the state helps youngsters decide what they have to study at university so they can secure relatively high-paying and stable jobs to support their quality of life without imposing a financial burden on their old parents. Despite the aforementioned reasons why the authority ought to get involved in subject choosing, nevertheless I concur that teenagers should have their own right to make up their choices. It is no doubt that one of the fundamental principles of education is that it should always be interesting. If students can study the subjects that he or she is interested in, they may try to spend more time on that aspects, for instance, doing research using online resources or find out answers on their own proactively. This reveals that the youth turn into active learners if they are engaged in the majors that amazed them. In addition, it is clear that everyone has the right to choose their desirable study area as individuals have different interests and thoughts so we should provide opportunities for teens to unleash their potential, for example, people who are talented and passionate about science may gain phenomenal success if they can study science as their major. Thereby, we ought to provide freedom for the younger generation to find out their own way and explore their little universe. In a nutshell, although if state engaging in college decisions might create beneficial effects on employment prospects in the future, never should we underestimate the importance of choosing an interesting further education by respecting teens' perspectives.