Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere?

A certain number of people believe that the government should not spend money on the arts because they can be used to serve some other useful purposes. In my opinion, financing for the arts is important because it helps to maintain the skills of an artist as well as generate revenue for the ministry. Supporters of the idea put forth, that diverting funds towards arts hamper the national well-being. These monetary resources could be used for the building of hospitals, schools, infrastructure, and roads, which would improve the condition of sick people and eradicate poverty. In children, it would increase the literacy rate and for adults, it provides various job opportunities. They consider art as a luxury and many governments cannot afford this extravagance. Thus, the authority should pay an attention to the issues related to human welfare. On the other hand, allocating to the arts is equally important to disseminate the culture of a country all over the world. If some pieces of art become famous all over the world, then it would lead to the economic growth of a country. For instance, India's famous artist "A.R Rehman" is famous for his art all over the world. Moreover, having a good economic condition in a country means automatically fulfilling all the basic needs of its citizens. But, if the government does not support these artists fiscally, they lose their confidence which would result in the lessening of their skills. Hence, the government has to spend cash on the arts. To conclude, investments in the sustenance of the arts are vital to helping the artists and spreading the culture of a nation overseas.