Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a general perception that there should be uniformity among the quotas of both genders in universities for each discipline. I partially agree with the given statement as to get higher education is the right of every deserving student. On the one hand, the benefits of having same number of male and female learners will be discussed here. Firstly, there will be equal opportunity for both genders and in this manner everyone will have a chance to get university education, for example, the University of the Punjab which is situated in Lahore, Pakistan has fixed the number of male and female students in every subject because ladies were becoming the majority of the classes and to increase the strength of gents they have to enforce this rule. Secondly, there will be more literacy rate especially for the poor class because they cannot afford to get admission in private institutes due to their fee structures so, they can continue their studies in government institutions. On the contrary, the drawbacks of the opinion include primarily, merit should be the only entry requirement for candidates because if the decisions are not made according to this criterion then many life-saving professions will be in the wrong hands due to the unjust standards. Moreover, deserving people will be left out and those who cannot pay the high fees of the private sector could quit their studies which will be a loss for the whole nation and their future will be at risk also. In conclusion, after discussing both sides of the view, I believe that equality in the number of seats of boys and girls in the higher education sector should not be the right criterion and it should be done on the basis of merit.