In some cities and towns all over the world, the high volume of traffic is a problem.What are the causes of this and wha actions can be taken to solve this problem?

In recent times, there has been a rapid spike in industrialization across the globe resulting in huge population growth. As a result, many cities worldwide are experiencing problems with traffic congestion. In this essay, I will discuss the major reasons contributing to this problem and effective ways to tackle this issue. To begin with, there are two main reasons for higher roadblocks in towns and urban areas. One of them is poorly maintained roads; many cities do not have properly developed roadways, resulting in huge traffic jams. For instance, metropolitan cities like Mumbai and Bangalore are prominently known for their higher traffic volumes. Another major contributor to this issue is the over usage of private transport vehicles. Many people prefer commuting in their own cars and this leads to excessive crowding on the city streets. For example, according to a recent survey, more than half of the Asian population prefers travelling in their own cars; thereby leading to higher traffic volumes. To remediate this problem the following actions should be taken; one of them is to construct proper multi-lane roads and flyovers that can cater to the commuting needs of citizens. In addition, introducing metro trains in towns could also prove to be beneficial. To cite an example, many cities in North America have multi-lane bridges and flyovers so that vehicles can be easily managed on roads. Another way of dealing with this problem is imposing an extra tax on the usage of private cars and vehicles. When jurisdictions take such a concrete step, people will be compelled to utilize public transportation facilities, thus reducing road jams. For example, in countries like Sweden, a majority of people prefer travelling in public buses and trains. To conclude, improper streets and overutilization of private cars are the primary causes of huge traffic jams observed in urban areas and towns. Constructing wide multi-lane roads and imposing taxes on the usage of private vehicles are effective ways of tackling this situation.