Many people believe that social networking sites have had a huge negative impact both on individuals and society. Extent do you agree?

Due to the rapid development of modern technology, people could easily get information from their smartphones through social media. However, some argue that there are tremendous negative effects on our society and individuals. In this essay, I will present my opinions in detail. Firstly, people spend too much time on social media which inevitably leads to huge detrimental effects on people's health. For example, once we open the apps on the smartphone, we used to emerge to it. Besides, what's worse is we fiddle with our phones while sitting on a sofa which affects disastrous effects on our health. According to statistics, the more people use smartphones, the less they spend time on exercise and the rate of obesity is alarmingly increasing. Besides, addiction to using smartphones is surging which potentially causes a huge social problem. Moreover, the number of children using smartphones is soaring, and this leads to the rate of students who are suffering from smartphone addiction. Thus, It should not be overlooked that addiction in children is linked to cognitive development which means a devastating effect on our society. To sum up, social networking sites not only could destroy a person's life but possibly could have a severe consequences on our society. Both governments and schools work together and make sure that things do not get worse anymore.