Many people are working longer hours. Why is this happening? What problems can this cause to people?

It is alarming that working overtime is increasingly prevalent in a large population of employees. Reasons for this phenomenon vary, and it has several impacts. These would be elucidated below. To begin with, there are several explanations for said matter. First, workers have to cover their families’ expenses. To be specific, it is impossible for them to afford the high price for necessities which grows exponentially with their formal salaries. As a result, they are required to allocate more time to extra work which enables them to receive lucrative income. Second, they desire to quickly reach new heights of their career. In particular, there are fierce competitions among staff in corporations which provide a myriad of benefits and opportunities. Thus, working more than the essential time enables them to have an excellent performance so they could easily climb career ladders. Unfortunately, the topic in question poses a variety of hindrances for workers. First and foremost, staff are more likely to face serious health issues. To elaborate, being exposed to the computer screen leads to vision impairments. Worse still, they are forced to adopt a sedentary lifestyle when sitting for hours and suffer from mental diseases due to their overwhelmed state. In addition, they lack time to concentrate on other crucial aspects. Particularly, overtime work prevents them from paying attention to their families and establishing social relationships. Therefore, they could be isolated and separated from their loved ones and friends, who offer them motivation and energy. In conclusion, working overtime is quite attractive because of financial advantages and job promotions. Nonetheless, it could deprive personnel of protecting their well-being and personal lives.