What are the advantages and disadvantages of a CCTV camera in public places?

It is true that with the development of electronic products and the internet, CCTV cameras play an essential role in public safety. There is no doubt that this case simultaneously brings some advantages and disadvantages which would be detailedly discussed in this essay. On the one hand, we have to recognize that there are a variety of benefits brought by a CCTV camera in some fields such as finance, safety, and transportation. Due to its special function, the camera can record things which happened in certain places and at specific times. Taking banks as an example, building sufficient CCTV cameras can avoid some criminal behaviours such as robbing and using counterfeit money. Meanwhile, policemen are able to read the records if some negative actions have been taken by thieves and offenders, which improves public safety to some degree. Besides, CCTV cameras also exhibit great convenience in healthcare and medical systems. Doctors and nurses can resort to these facilities to monitor people's body condition and daily actions, which has the benefit of designing individual plans and thus accelerating their recovery. On the other hand, the disadvantages of these cameras are also obvious if they are deployed in public places. In my opinion, the issue discussed most frequently is that residents are afraid of privacy leaks. As some literature reported before, people are likely to unconsciously leak their personal information like address, passport and healthy conditions in online actions. Therefore, if CCTV cameras have been attacked by hackers and criminals, people's tracks and activities would be leaked, which absolutely damages individual security. With the fast development of the internet, this situation will be more common and underlying risks should be highly regarded by governments and scientists. In conclusion, CCTV cameras facilitate public security in some aspects while bringing some drawbacks. Both of them should come to be valued.