In some countries, a high proportion of criminal acts are committed by teenagers. Why has this happened? What can be done to deal with this?

In this modern day and age, several infractions are caused by the younger generation. It can be clearly seen that there are lots of reasons for this trend and certain methods can be taken to tackle this issue. There are several causes for the high rate of juvenile delinquency. To begin with, teenagers doing unlawful acts could be the result of the lack of education from parents. Parents often need to focus on earning a living and generating income in order to feed their families. Therefore, they might not have enough time to educate their children and lead them to go on the right path. Moreover, living in a poor environment might be one of the major causes for the younger generation to fall foul of the law. Due to poverty, teenagers may tend to break the rules and commit criminal acts for the purpose of making money. For instance, the high rate of juvenile criminals in Brazil is the result of teenagers having to live in a deprived environment. In order to tackle the problems, several methods can be adopted. First, education coming from the family plays an important role in preventing children from being involved in infractions. Parents should spend time educating their children so that they can distinguish between right and wrong. Second, changing the living environment could be considered one of the most effective ways in order to keep their children from becoming criminals. By having ideal living conditions, children may not be influenced by criminal acts. Besides, if people around children are doing the right acts, those people might have the ability to influence the younger generation not to break the laws. In conclusion, the lack of education from parents and the disadvantaged living environment are the two main causes of the high proportion of teenage criminals in some countries. However, the problem can be resolved if children are provided with better parental education and ideal conditions of living.