Some people are concerned that children spend too much time on computers – playing games, chatting and watching videos. But all this time is actually good preparation for children, who will have to spend many hours working on computers throughout their education and their working lives.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is a proven fact that children nowadays spend plenty of time using technological gadgets. Some people argue that the trend is detrimental for them, whereas others believe that it would be beneficial for their future, as they will use computers during their education and professional career. Personally, I agree with the primer view and this essay will delve into the reasons behind my opinion. Firstly, spending a substantial amount of time on the Internet might contribute to developing anti-social attitudes and mental ailments. As a result, children develop isolated behaviours towards their peers or their families. Furthermore, as the availability of electronic gadgets has increased, a high percentage of youngsters prefer to spend their spare time playing video games, and chatting online on various platforms, such as Whatsapp, Facebook or Instagram. As a result, they might develop mental illness and require psychological assistance. For instance, recent research has proven that COVID-19 has exacerbated the trend in a hazardous manner. Secondly, a long-term effect of this popular trend may be a fatal loss of interest towards education and professional career. If youth society becomes addicted to virtual platforms, they might potentially lose the strength and concentration for their homework. The result might be that they will eventually abandon their studies, thus putting their professional career at risk. For example, in the USA, a high percentage of young males have left their studies, as they were spending more than eight hours playing virtual games. To sum up, the last fifty years have seen a dramatic increase in the use of computers and similar devices, causing children several issues, such as isolation attitudes and mental health problems. In the long term, the effects could be even more harmful. Governments and parents should aid children to understand reality and avoid major problems in the foreseeable future.