Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is this? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is irrefutable that children love playing games, be it indoors or outdoors. Many people believe that teenagers nowadays spend more time on their computers playing online rather than spending time on physical sports. I tend to agree with the topic, and that it has negative impacts on kids in the long term. In this essay, I will discuss more on the topic. To begin with, obesity is a big problem in most of the developed world, because kids spend more time in the house sitting and watching TV or playing on laptops. This leads to early-age obesity due to the lack of physical movement. To illustrate, the biggest problem with eating junk food is that may lead to fat build-up. Hence, It is pretty important for kids to spend more time outdoors running or moving their muscles to ensure they are not just sitting and getting fat. Additionally, looking at the computer screen for long hours can cause strain on the kid's eyes, which may result in sight issues and may require spectacles at an early age. Furthermore, sitting in one place can impact communication with other humans as well. To exemplify, children nowadays do not talk instead they only chat, this is an impact of online games and social networks. Therefore, the impacts of using computers to play games or chat with friends online will deteriorate health and communication skills as well. In a nutshell, despite the efforts put in by parents and the government to promote sports, children are still going back to playing video games, In my opinion, parents should make sure that their kid is not sitting at home during leisure time, and is outdoors for at least 1 hour during the day.