Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, Sugary foods have a wide range of distribution in the markets because its relatively low price. Although carbohydrates and sugars are required for our bodies in limited amount, many health professionals claim that strong measure must be taken as adding more taxes on these products, as excessive consumption of sugar products may lead to tremendous hazardous effects on human health; however, other critics argue that more taxes on these products will not lead to lower consumption as most grocery products have a high percentage of sugars. In my view, I utterly concur that adding more taxes on these products is a good procedure to control the various negative effects of sugary items. To begin, excessive consumption of sugar products is associated with many diseases including diabetes, hypertension, and other diseases. These effects are more notable in children. Moreover, products with high percentage of sugars seems to be addictive. To illustrate, many children who eat too much sugars are more borne to obesity, which results in lower activity and may be their studying efficiency will decrease. This can be demonstrated by learning from professional athletes, who have a great performance that lasted for years for many factors, including the nutrition which contains low proportions of sugars. In addition, increasing taxes will result in higher prices of these items, which in turn, will decrease the capability of buying them; however, these policies may affect the income of many food companies. As a result, companies may lead to produce alternative and healthy products. In other words, more regulations will be set by both the companies and government to produce healthier item. Also, people will tend more to eat fresh vegetables and fruits as a natural substitute for sugars. In conclusion, adding more taxes on these products will encourage the use of alternative healthy food products. Also, it can be a key factor for controlling obesity as well as controlling diseases like diabetes and heart diseases.