Nowadays, with the advancement of technology and transportation facilities, people can work and live anywhere they want. Discuss its advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion.

The contemporary world provides us with the possibility of using plenty of advanced technological devices and means of transport in order to live and work all over the globe. While globalization is considered by many as the main advantage, I believe that pollution levels related to those improvements are our major concern. The main advantage of both modern technologies and vehicles is undoubtedly globalization. This is to say that, as travel and communication are becoming easier, this leads to the development of closer economic, cultural, and political relations among all the countries of the world. For example, there are many people who live in Europe, but they work for some company in the US, because of the home office, which lets them use their computers and the internet in order to execute their everyday assignments from a long distance. In addition, if we look at modern aviation, today we can cover the distance of nearly 10 000 miles from New York to Singapore in less than 18 hours. However, even though all of the improvements in technology and transport help all humans to live and work globally, they are strictly connected with causing harm to the environment. The main disadvantage of recent electronic devices and current transport services is pollution. In other words, by producing state-of-the-art machinery we contribute to elevated CO2 emissions, which leads to the depletion of the ozone layer, and this has a knock-on effect on climate change. Moreover, global warming leads to elevated sea levels and frequent natural disasters, such as earthquakes, tornados, tsunamis, etc. For instance, when the production of the newest Microsoft chips started, it was calculated that the burning of fossil fuels has risen dramatically by almost 40% per year. In addition, the new Boeing 777, which will be presented on the market in 2024, is expected to cover the distance between London and New York much faster; however, the CO2 emissions of the latter are expected to rise by 20%, compared to today’s model of the aeroplane. I believe, that since the digital and transport revolution emerged back in the eighties, the human race was only focused on providing a more straightforward lifestyle for themselves (working from home, flying all over the world for several hours, using different gadgets, and etc.) without paying enough attention to the possible negative impact on the environment. In conclusion, we are free to exist and work anywhere on Earth with the help of various leading technologies and transport means. Conversely, as they are both associated with polluting nature, humanity must take immediate action to slow down the processes of our planet’s distinction,,, otherwise we are foredoomed to suffer.