Many governments invest a great deal of money in space research. What are the advantages and disadvantages of spending money on space exploration?

To explore space and planets, many countries establish a large amount organizations and departments, while investing much money in scientific research and the design of novel facilities. Although some people hold the idea that spending huge money on space exploration has some drawbacks, I consider that more advantages would be achieved from a long-time perspective. First of all, there are some reasons which drive people to believe that space exploration has several disadvantages. The primary reason is that fewer rewards would be attained in a short time even though huge budgets have been allocated to research. As well-known, space is mysterious and has never been well understood by scientists. When people aim to figure out it, advanced knowledge and high-quality facilities are required. For this, large budgets need to be invested in relevant fields such as math, material, physics and so on. However, achieving significant breaks in these fields is absolutely difficult. As a consequence, people and governments are hard to witness the research achievements, which encourages them to lose confidence in space exploration. However, spending huge money on exploring space would bring a large number of advantages from both scientific and social aspects. One certain field can achieve fast development if a large scale of funds has been allocated. Therefore, those fields which is related to space exploration would benefit from this funding, while accomplishing different degrees of scientific break. Meanwhile, from a social perspective, people can also benefit from these activities. As previous literature reported, some experiments were conducted on spaceships, which aimed to modify the gene of some food like tomatoes and rice in the space environment. This modified food always has the feature of high output and weather tolerance and thus can be planted in extreme climates. In conclusion, although space exploration needs a great deal of money and cannot achieve obvious effectiveness in a short term, considerable benefits from both the aspects of science and society would be attained over a long time.