In many countries large amounts of foods are wasted. Why do you think people waste food in this way? What can be done to reduce the amount of food thrown away?

Every day, many people in different parts of the world don't consume the whole meal they prepared and the leftovers are thrown away. I strongly believe that people are stuck in a luxury behaviour, so they make a large amount of food for every meal. In my opinion, the best way to decrease this is to teach people through culture to not cook more than their needs. Nowadays people are stuck in a luxury lifestyle due to the effects of social media and other media like TV. In the luxury lifestyle, families do not like to have less food on the table. For example, people didn't pay a lot of attention to decorating the food or making a large amount of food in my country four decades ago, but these days, they prefer to have a huge portion of food at their tables every meal. In this case, there will be a large amount of food that is not eaten. To decrease this huge portion of thrown-away food, we can teach people through culture, so the culture will be built inside the families. The key point is to start teaching this culture to the children. For instance, the government of my country was eager to make fastening car seatbelts a culture, so they tried to make that culture through children using animations and also some sort of education at school. So the children were always there to remind their parents to fasten their seatbelts. To sum up, people learnt a luxury lifestyle and this is the cause of cooking a large amount of food, therefore a lot of food is thrown away. To decrease the number of leftovers in each family there is a need to make a new culture