In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

It is true that in several traditional countries, citizens would like to buy an accommodation instead of renting it. Reasons for this phenomenon vary, and in my opinion, it has both pros and cons. The following paragraphs would shed light on my viewpoint. To begin with, there are various explanations for the topic in question. First, possessing a house allows individuals to have more privacy. To be specific, the owners of a house have the right to decorate it based on their hobbies, which drives to the benefits of mental health. If they rent an apartment, they need to ask for a prior consent of the owners before implementing anything with it. Second, obtaining a house would reduce several kinds of monthly bills. To elaborate, it is undeniable that there are several rising costs if individuals rent an apartment, namely parking fees or elevator maintenance. Therefore, if citizens have the ability to possess a house on their own, they are able to use the space of the house to park, and this will be totally free of charge. For instance, leasors in Vietnam usually force renters to pay the electricity bill three times higher than its real prices. It can be said that this phenomenon is both a blessing and a curse. On the one hand, the expenditure on owning a house is excessively high. Specifically, it is indisputable that individuals need to use most of their savings for buying a house, which leads to financial pressure. Worse still, to buy a house, several residents have to borrow money from banks with high interest rates, and if they fail to pay the original debt on time, their house would be the assets of the banks. On the other hand, this enables a nation to develop its economy. To be specific, owning a house is the motivation of an employee. Admittedly, in order to purchase an apartment, employees shall have to work harder to earn more money. Thanks to this, work efficiency could be enhanced and as a result, the economy would be developed. Take Vietnam as an example, after the Covid-19 pandemic, the costs of an accommodation in Vietnam are several times higher than previously. This prevents citizens from owning a house by themselves, and they need to find financial aid from credit institutions to own it. In conclusion, individuals would like to buy a house because of various reasons like privacy and money savings. Nonetheless, this would put individuals at risk in some cases.