Modern society's obsession with material goods like cars, designer clothes and jewellery has diverged people's attention from other necessary aspects of life like family bond and social values.

The current generation seems to be hugely allured by materialistic pleasure instead of family. However, I completely agree with this statement since humans spend a large amount of time and money on such expensive items that they barely focus on their social development. To commence with, the primary reason for supporting this ideology is the fact that these days the trend of flaunting possessions has gained a peak and in doing so, individuals tend to avoid the needs of their close ones. Moreover, the basic nature of helping and comforting others depends on communal standards. For instance, records suggest that majority of the rich people do not respect individuals who work in lower positions than theirs. Hence, the urge for earning more and more money brings with it serious repercussions including arrogance and underestimating others. In addition, certain people leave their families in order to fulfil their dreams and never look back. Adults settle in different locations or countries for their job or education, despite there being no one to look after their ageing parents. In some cases, people also abandon their newborn children as they consider them an obstacle to their career growth. This has ramified in an increase in the number of orphanages and old age homes. For example, reports show that nearly 34% of youngsters relocate to foreign countries and do not visit their elders even if they are dying. Thus, the blind aim to attain success has destroyed numerous invaluable relations inclusive marriages. To conclude, I strongly agree that modern society's obsession with imported things has parted their attention from other necessary aspects of life. Therefore, although it is good to have some goals in life it is equally important to value our social life.