Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Healthcare is one of the basic necessity for humanbeings and discussions on its affortability has been discussed over a period of time. Whilst some folks believe that it must be free of cost there are others who think otherwise. Personally, I am inclined towards a blend of public and privately funded initiatives. This essay will discuss the merits of both views and my viewpoint will be elaborated. Healthcare costs, especially for prolonged illness, are unpredictable and the treatment for such illness will depend on the financial stability of the individual. Worried about the cost, people will stay away from treatment and make their condition worse. As a result, a sick society will be formed, making it a burden for any community or country. This situation can be avoided by providing free care for its natives, thereby building a heathy society that can bring a plethora of monetary benifits which could be used to fund healthcare. For instance, in Canada, medical costs are free and it helps people to be less concerned about healthcare savings and instead stay focussed on their jobs. On the other hand, the healthcare costs are increasing drastically because enormous money is spent in the field of medicine and diagnostic devices. As a consequence, public funded healthcare costs becomes viable only if majority in the society is healthy and any change to the situation can culminate into financial troubles. An eminent example of the situation is the COVID-19 pandemic, where countries had to get addtional funds to meet the healthcare requirements. Hence, considering the unpredictable nature, the better option is to keep the funding option with indiviuals. To conclude, in either scenerios scenario, there are merits and demerits. I am of the opinion that a blend of public and private funding would be ideal. This will ensure that individuals can save a portion of their savings on healthcare and at the save time, public funding can be added to provide cheaper treatment options.