Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us all want to do the same and look the same. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

Some arguments say the adverts have reduced the quest for lifestyle differentiation. Personally, I am an opponent of this statement. Admittedly, some advertising agencies are using commercials to persuade people to chase the lives owned by those celebrities and to overspend. Essentially, it is economics that motivates advertising companies to sell more of their clients' products and services to ad viewers, but also to the detriment of diversity. Take the example of the internationally renowned lingerie brand Victoria's Secret, whose promotion of the ideal body shape to women undermines attitudes to beauty and makes people believe that only a slender female figure can gain popularity and fame. However, today we are witnessing more and more adverts, alongside their formats, selling the idea of diversity to the public. Above all, technologies are shattering the monopoly of television in the advertising business, opening up new channels for business owners, and making advertisements much less expensive. To illustrate this, a gadget startup now can introduce their product by posting a page on a mobile application and easily get on the radar of millions of viewers around the world. As such, the minor ad costs on web-based and mobile-based platforms have attracted more small and medium-sized companies, and from a consumer’s standpoint, access to novelty items displayed by businesses around the world has reached an unprecedented scale. In short, it is a sign of increasing differentiation. In conclusion, I subscribe to the view that the era of commercials bombarding the audience with excessive consumption and luxury lifestyle has come to end, and that today, empowered by the advance of technologies, people enjoy an increasing diversity of commercials in terms of format and content.