Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

In today’s modern world, a lot of studies have been made regarding the evolution of an individual. One of those researches clearly shows that personality and development are more influenced by genetic factors than experiences made during life. However, I believe that life events and personal commitment have a greater impact on one’s charisma and advancement. To commence with, life events have lasting effects on personality traits, changing the nature of an individual. In other words, all failures and disappointments, as well as successes and achievements, could teach lessons and shape the personalities with which one is born. For instance, often we hear histories of people who had changed some character aspects inherited from their parents as a result of experiences made. It is the case of a lot of celebrities who tell how they switched from being shy to becoming extremely outgoing thanks to their success or those people who lost their self-confidence after a heartbreak. Thus, I believe that innate characteristics can be changed through life events. Moreover, the progress of an individual depends much more on hard work and dedication than on inborn traits. Namely, a gifted person will not make improvements if he does not do experiences for exploiting his talent. On the other hand, people without particular abilities can achieve great results by working hard. It is the case for many football players since there are plenty of innate lazy talents who do not be part of prestigious teams while many others without such characteristics do thanks to the commitment to improving their skills. Therefore, dedication and motivation can defeat unexploited talent. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that experiences gained in daily life and commitment to learning and improve own capabilities have major consequences on our personalities and development than the characteristics that we are born with.