ii. #Health - "Prevention is better than cure." Out of a country's health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? (IELTS 2, AC)

Pandemics and outbreaks are far more dangerous than the most savage wars ever fought.Due to awareness and modern research,the countries have recognized this reality and are investing more in preventive measures and health education.I completely agree with this strategy as if a disease is prevented the people may not have to undergo the suffering,financial,and emotional trauma. To begin with,if an outbreak is prevented the people would not have to undergo the suffering caused by it.Pathogens evolve day by day and the suffering they cause is becoming more and more unbearable. For instance,the recent COVID-19 pandemic inflicted unimaginable suffering on humans and only those who took precautionary measures learned from the awareness campaigns evaded the outbreak and, still no cure has been found. Hence,humans do not have to suffer if the pandemics are prevented in the first place. Similarly,outbreaks eat up the budgets of the countries,crippling their economy.Obviously,capital is required to produce medications and to provide patient care which puts strains on the states' economy,which could be avoided by investing much less in prevention. For example, the black flu was the worst ever pandemic in the history of New Zealand large scale medications had to be produced along with healthcare provision, in addition to the entire country had to be shut down for several weeks which further hurt the economy. Thus,diseases demand large sums of money to be spent if not avoided. Lastly,emotional trauma to both patients and their families is significant in case of diseases,especially the deadly ones which could've been prevented only if precautionary measures were taken.To give an example,if a person is the sole earner of his household,especially in the developing country then he and his family undergo extreme emotional suffering as they have to worry about their food too. Therefore,mental health disturbance is another issue that could be avoided by evading the disease. To conclude,many governments throughout the world have rightly diverted their attention towards prevention rather than treatment.Which is a good strategy because prevention is better than cure.