Increasing number of people are choosing cosmetic surgeries. Why do people have operations to change the way they look? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In today’s era, most people want to look beautiful with the help of cosmetic surgeries. Surprisingly, the number of cosmetic operations is escalating day by day. In my opinion, to some extent it is a negative development because this situation can lead to some serious health problems in individuals and also lead to the wastage of money. On the one hand, people do have surgeries because they want to look pretty and confident. In some cases, such as acid attacks, fire or burn incidents; sometimes it becomes necessary to have a cosmetic surgery. For instance, to boost up the confidence and self-esteem of the acid-attack survivors, going through surgery would be the best option for them. Indeed, this makes them more confident and their self-esteem increases by means of this. On the other hand, in terms of negative development, to have a cosmetic surgery one needs to go through several beauty injections, medicines, and the pain which comes through operations. These tends to increase some serious health problems for example: migraines, hormonal in-balance, obesity; just because of the side effects of these medicines and injections. Additionally, people spend bulk amount of money on these surgeries. This money could be saved for the future and for emergency situations for instance any unexpected circumstances. So, these can be considered as aspects of a negative development. To conclude, in my opinion, although there are some positive factors for choosing cosmetic surgeries however, its negative consequences should not be ignored. People should understand its benefits and drawbacks before going through any beauty surgery.